Home Page
RSS Feeds
Newsletter Signup
Site Map
Launch Audio Player

19 January 1977
Pink Floyd's new album, Animals, was played at a press launch held at Battersea Power Station.

21 January 1977
Animals was released in the UK. Tracklisting: Pigs On The Wing, Part 1; Dogs; Pigs (Three Different Ones); Sheep; Pigs On The Wing, Part 2. The album reached No. 2 in the charts.

23 January 1977
Pink Floyd's 20-date European tour commenced at Dortmund's Westfalenhalle and ended at Munich's Olympiahalle. The band were joined by additional musicians: Dick Parry on saxophone and Terence 'Snowy' White on guitar and bass. Their stage show now featured a giant inflatable pig, suspended by a steel cable for indoor gigs; animated sequences designed by illustrator and satirical cartoonist Gerald Scarfe; and an inflatable 'nuclear family' of wife, husband and 2.5 children on a sofa, designed by Mark Fisher and Jonathan Park, who both went on to work on the Wall live production. The setlist now included: Sheep; Pigs On The Wing, Part 1; Dogs; Pigs On The Wing, Part 2; Pigs (Three Different Ones); Shine On You Crazy Diamond, Parts 1-5; Welcome To The Machine; Have A Cigar; Wish You Were Here; Shine On You Crazy Diamond, Parts 6-9; Money.

12 February 1977
Animals was released in the US and reached No. 3 in the charts.

15 March 1977
Pink Floyd's nine-date UK tour kicked off at Wembley Empire Pool, and closed with four nights at Stafford Bingley Hall.

22 April 1977
Pink Floyd — In The Flesh North American tour opened at Miami Baseball Stadium and ended at Portland Memorial Coliseum on 12 May. The set list remained the same as in Europe, with an occasional encore of Us And Them and a one-off extra encore of Careful With That Axe, Eugene at California's Oakland Coliseum.

15 June 1977
The second leg of the In The Flesh tour commenced at Milwaukee's County Stadium and closed on 6 July at Montreal's Olympic Stadium. The tour included a four-night stand at New York's Madison Square Garden. The set list remained the same as in Europe. The crowd was so rowdy on the tour's last night that Roger Waters, having reacted strongly to provocation, considers the relationship of rock stars to their audience and begins to construct the Wall project, which became Pink Floyd's next album.