Home Page
RSS Feeds
Newsletter Signup
Site Map
Launch Audio Player

January 1979
Pink Floyd began seven months of intermittent recording at Super Bear Studios and Studio Miraval in France on their next album, The Wall.

6 July 1979
Pink Floyd XI, a limited edition vinyl box set containing all of their albums to date, was released in the UK.

1 September 1979
Two months of work began on The Wall at New York's CBS Studios with the New York Philharmonic Orchestra and conductor/arranger Michael Kamen. Floyd later work on The Wall at Los Angeles' Cherokee Studios and Producer's Workshop.

1 November 1979
Pink Floyd began a week's recording and mixing at The Producers' Workshop in Los Angeles.

23 November 1979
Pink Floyd's single Another Brick In The Wall, Part 2 (B-side: One Of My Turns) was released in the UK. It was the group's first UK single since Point Me At The Sky in 1968, and spent four weeks at No. 1 in the charts.

30 November 1979
Pink Floyd's new album, The Wall, was released in the UK. Tracklisting: In The Flesh?; The Thin Ice; Another Brick In The Wall, Part 1; The Happiest Days Of Our Lives; Another Brick In The Wall, Part 2; Mother; Goodbye Blue Sky; Empty Spaces; Young Lust; One Of My Turns; Don't Leave Me Now; Another Brick In The Wall, Part 3; Goodbye Cruel World; Hey You; Is There Anybody Out There; Nobody Home; Vera; Bring The Boys Back Home; Comfortably Numb; The Show Must Go On; In The Flesh; Run Like Hell; Waiting For The Worms; Stop; The Trial; Outside The Wall. It reached No. 3 in the charts.

8 December 1979
The Wall was released in the US and reached No. 1 in the charts.