Home Page
RSS Feeds
Newsletter Signup
Site Map
Launch Audio Player

January 1987
Pink Floyd began recording sessions for their album A Momentary Lapse Of Reason at David Gilmour's studio Astoria. Further sessions continued at Britannia Row, Mayfair, and Audio International Studios in London and Los Angeles' A&M and Village Recorder Studios with producer Bob Ezrin.

15 June 1987
Roger Waters released his solo album, Radio K.A.O.S. in the UK and US.

1 August 1987
Pink Floyd began four weeks of tour rehearsals at a warehouse facility at Lester B Pearson international airport in Toronto, Canada. The touring line-up now included David Gilmour, Nick Mason and a recently re-joined Richard Wright, plus additional players: Guy Pratt (bass); Jon Carin (keyboards); Scott Page (saxophone); Gary Wallis (percussion); Tim Renwick (guitars); and backing vocalists Rachel Fury and Margaret Taylor.

14 August 1987
Roger Waters' Radio K.A.O.S. North American tour opened at Providence Civic Center. The tour played for a further 25 nights, closing on 29 September at the Expo Theatre, Vancouver. After a two-month break, the tour resumed at Cumberland County Convention Center on 3 November, and played for a further eight dates across America.

7 September 1987
Pink Floyd's album A Momentary Lapse Of Reason was released in the UK (and a day later in the US). The tracklisting was: Signs of Life; Learning To Fly; The Dogs Of War; One Slip; On The Turning Away; Yet Another Movie; Round And Around; A New Machine, Part 1; Terminal Frost; A New Machine, Part 2; Sorrow. The album reached No. 3 in both the UK and the US.

9 September 1987
Pink Floyd's North American tour opened at the 25,000-seat Landsdowne Park Stadium, Ottawa, Ontario. The tour took in a further 61 dates, closing at Vancouver's British Columbia Place Stadium on 11 December.

14 September 1987
Pink Floyd released Learning To Fly (B-side: Terminal Frost) as a single in the US only.

21 & 22 November 1987
Roger Waters played two UK dates at London's Wembley Arena.